
Swimming Pool Service Licenses and Certifications 
 
 
There are 3 classes of swimming pool contractors: class A,B and C. 
Class A is a COMMERCIAL POOL & SPA CONTRACTOR. This license type is unlimited in 
the pool industry. (Commercial and residential pools.) 
 
Class B is a RESIDENTIAL POOL & SPA CONTRACTOR. Limited to residential pool 
building and major repairs (can pull permits for residential pools) and can do anything a 
class C license is allowed to do. 
 
Class C is a SWIMMING POOL/SPA SERVICING CONTRACTOR. Limited to the non-
structural repair and equipment servicing of pools. They cannot build a pool. 
Cannot pull a permit. 
 
A contractor can hold a state license or a local license. 
A Certified Pool Contractor (CPC) is a state license that allows you to work in any county 
or municipality. These licenses are obtained through the state Department of Business and 
Professional Regulation (DBPR). 
 
There are 3 levels of a CPC license: 
1) CPC-Commercial (class A) 
2) CPC- Residential (class B) 
3) CPC- Service (class C) 
 
A Registered Pool Contractor license (RP) is a local license that allows you to work in 
only in Sarasota County . These licenses are obtained through the county licensing board. 
 
There are 3 levels of RP license: 
1) RP-Commercial (class A) 
2) RP- Residential (class B) 
3) RP- Service (class C) 
 
For more information or to apply for and CPC license go to the state web site at: 
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/ 
 
For more information or to apply for and RP license go to the county web site at: 
http://scgov.net 
Click on Permitting/Permit Status on the left side of the web page and scroll click on 
Licensing Hub (about halfway down the page) to get all of the information needed to apply 
for a local pool contractor’s license. 
 
Pool Service Technicians are NOT licensed contractors! A technician is qualified to do 
basic pool service such as cleaning the pool and filters, adjusting pool water chemistry. 
ALL REPAIRS AND SERVICES THAT INVOLVE PLUMBING OR 
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ELECTRICAL WORK ON POOL EQUIPMENT MUST BE DONE BY A 
LICENSED POOL CONTRACTOR. According to Florida Statute 489.128, an owner has 
the right to refuse payment for services provided by unlicensed contractors. In addition, 
Sarasota County Code Enforcement can issue a citation for $500 to any individual working 
as an unlicensed contractor. 
 
If you do not qualify to take a contractor’s license exam you may become a pool 
service technician.  A pool service technician course of 16 hours or more is required by 
the Florida Administrative Code 64E-9 for an individual to provide routine pool service to 
commercial pools and spas. For a list of state or national pool service courses go to the 
Florida Department of Health (FDOH) web site at: 
http://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/swimming-
pools/_documents/servicetechniciancertificationcourses.pd 
 
If a service technician works for a licensed pool contractor, the Florida Department of Health 
in Sarasota County allows the technician to take a local 8 hour course, rather than a 16 
hour course. The Health Department’s “Pool Technician” certificate DOES NOT 
ALLOW a service person to do repairs or operate an independent pool service 
business.  
Online Access to course materials: http://sarasotahealth.ipower.com/poolschool/index.htm 
For more information about the local pool testing process, call 861-6675. 
 
A certification is NOT the same thing as a license. 
Highest to lowest ranking based on the scope of work allowed on swimming pools: 
1) CPC Commercial license (A) - can do work on any pool in all counties 
2) CPC Residential license (B) 
3) CPC Service license (C) 
4) RP Commercial license (A) 
5) RP Residential license (B) 
6) RP Service license (C) 
7) National service technician certification (such as an AFO, NSPF CPO, etc) 
8) County Health Department technician certification- can clean commercial pools under a 
licensed contractor. 
9) Residential pool service technician 
 
If you are interested in starting your own pool service business you will find 
important information at the following professional organizations: 
National Swimming Pool Foundation (NSPF) http://www.nspf.com/ 
Association of Pool & Spa Professionals (ASPS) http://apsp.org/ 
Florida Swimming Pool Association (FSPA) http://www.floridapoolpro.com/ 
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